Liebster Award

Liebster Award

Who wouldn’t love to be nominated for an award – so to be nominated twice is a double joy! The Liebster Award is a networking scheme that has been created to support and encourage new bloggers. It takes a bit of effort to complete all the required tasks, but you can’t get something for nothing, can you? (Apologies to my nominators that it has taken me so long to get this posted)

Liebster

If you have just been nominated by me, here are the rules:

– Post the award on your blog.
– Thank the blogger presenting you with this award and provide a link back to their blog
– Write 11 random facts about yourself
– Find 11 other bloggers with less than 200 followers who you think are deserving of the award and nominate them
– Finally, the award presenter will ask 11 questions which you need to answer and then you, in turn, ask your nominees 11 questions, and on it goes.

Thank You! to my nominators Polyglut and A French American Life

Eleven facts about myself:

1. I believe every child has an infinite amount of potential to learn and to become a good person and it is our duty as parents to support and encourage our children.

2. I love liquorice, salty and sweet

3. I am an unusual Finn: I don’t drink coffee (Finns are the top coffee consumers of the world)

4. I love going for long walks, especially in the Peak District

5. I have researched my family history back to the 15th century

6. My favourite TV programme is Big Bang Theory

7. When I was 19 I once got lost in Berlin in the middle of the night without money and had forgotten what my hotel was called (this was before the time of mobile phones … think about it)

8. I admire English drivers – you won’t find politer ones anywhere (if you have driven only in England, just believe me, it is a lot worse everywhere else)

9. Besides languages and children I love writing, music and photography

10. I love the light Finnish summer nights

11. I have seen Rammstein, Muse and Metallica in concert

Answers to Polyglut’s questions:

1. If you could be any nationality other than the one that you currently are, what would it be and why?
Probably Canadian, I have always felt an affinity to Canada

2. What is the most rebellious thing that you ever did as a child?
I didn’t really do rebellion as a child, unless my big brother put me on to something … such as trying a cigarette when I was seven (I hated it!)

3. How do you pronounce scone? Does it rhyme with phone or gone?
Gone

4. What is the longest word that you can think of without looking it up?
Antiestablismentarianism (and no, I really didn’t look that up, remember it from somewhere)

5. What is the first word that comes to mind?
Love

6. What is your favourite personality trait?
Honesty

7. If you had the chance to acquire one skill instantly, what would it be?
Eradicating world poverty (I wouldn’t want to miss the chance)

8. Name one song that you would never skip.
The Eagles: Hotel California

9. What type of holiday do you prefer: sitting by the pool or exploring the country?
Definitely exploring the country!

10. What is your favourite word, English or otherwise?
Saippuakauppias (Finnish word for ‘soap merchant’, longest palindrome I know)

11. What was the last song that you listened to?
Jason Mraz: I won’t give up on you

Answers to A French American’s questions:

1. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
As long as I have my family around me, I am happy where ever I am. Every place has its beauty – you just have to find it.

2. What is the best book you’ve read recently?
“Bilingual: life and reality” by François Grosjean

3. What is the nicest thing a random stranger has ever done for you?
Rescued me when I was lost in the middle of the night in Berlin (see another answer above)

4. Your life will be made into a movie. Who do you want to play you?
Audrey Hepburn

5. What was your favorite childhood toy?
I loved dressing up my dolls and making clothes for them

6. What is your guilty pleasure?
The Eurovision Song Contest

7. Sweet or savory?
Savoury

8. If you could go anywhere in the world right now, where would you go?
Always love to go back to my home village Dagsmark in Finland.

9. How many and which languages do you speak?
Swedish, Finnish, German and English, some Punjabi and French

10. What was your favorite subject in school? Least favorite?
Favourite: Initially Maths, then German. Least favourite: PE if we had to run for more than two minutes

11. If you could have any job other than your current one, what would you do?
Something to do with inspiring underprivileged children and teenagers

Questions to my nominees:

1. Who do you admire the most?

2. Which country would you like to visit?

3. Are you an early bird or a night owl?

4. What is your earliest childhood memory?

5. Which is your favourite day of the week and why?

6. If you were to appear in a film, which film would it be and what character?

7. What was your dream job as a child?

8. When did you last jump in a puddle?

9. What song lyrics have you misheard?

10. How long is a piece of string?

11. What’s the worst spelling mistake you have made in a text or email message?

Finally, my nominees:

Head of the Heard
Naughty Mommys
Anthromumix 
Fanny P
au lit!
Multicultural Mothering
Grammaticalicious 
Babies without borders
Bridging Worlds
little miss frenchified
James Oliver Development

© Rita Rosenback 2013



Categories: Blogging

2 replies

  1. Thanks a million for the nomination. Multilingual parenting is a challenging and inspiring topic, thanks for sharing in your experiences. It helps moms like me make sense of it! 😉

  2. Thank you – glad you enjoy my blog. All the best on your multilingual parenting journey 🙂

Share your thoughts here

